I was staggered

by their marvellous


Sir John Tavener, composer
0 Items £0.00

Listen and Shop

Looking for an extra special gift?
Find out about our latest release

Handel's Messiah

Original release date: 2006


After a magisterial interpretation of the highly theatrical Saul (Editor’s Choice in Gramophone, ‘Choc’ du Monde de la Musique, etc.), René Jacobs now turns his attention to Messiah, in the 1750 version with two alto soloists. Handel subjected the work to multiple revisions according to the solo singers he had available for his annual performances of it in London. However, this public acknowledgment of the work’s value came only some years after the oratorio’s triumphant premiere in Dublin on 13 April 1742: in order to win over London audiences Messiah had had to confront a cabal that was all the more unjustified in that Handel avoided all dramatisation of the person and Passion of Christ – the exact opposite of Saul, in a sense. But history has amply made up for lost time since then.
Kerstin Avemo | Soprano
Patricia Bardon | Alto
Lawrence Zazzo | Countertenor
Kobie van Rensburg | Tenor
Neal Davies | Bass
The Choir of Clare College
Freiburger Barockorchester
René Jacobs | Director

  • Sinfony
  • Comfort Ye, My People
  • Ev'ry Valley Shall Be Exalted
  • And The Glory Of The Lord
  • Thus Saith The Lord
  • But Who May Abide
  • And He Shall Purify
  • Behold, A Virgin Shall Conceive
  • For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover The Earth
  • The People That Walked In Darkness
  • For Unto Us A Child Is Born
  • Pifa
  • Glory To God
  • Rejoice Greatly
  • Then Shall The Eyes Of The Blind
  • His Yoke Is Easy
  • Behold The Lamb Of God
  • He Was Despised
  • Surely, He Hath Borne Our Griefs
  • And With His Stripes
  • All We Like Sheep Have Gone Astray
  • All They That See Him Laugh Him To Scorn
  • He Trusted In God That He Would Deliver Him
  • Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart
  • Behold & See If There Be Any Sorrow
  • He Was Cut Off Out Of The Land Of The Living; But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul In Hell
  • Lift Up Your Heads, O Ye Gates
  • Unto Which Of The Angels Said He At Any Time
  • Let All The Angels Of God Worship Him
  • Thou Art Gone Up On High
  • The Lord Gave The World
  • How Beautiful Are The Feet Of Them
  • Their Sound Is Gone Out Into All Lands
  • Why Do The Nations So Furiously Rage Together
  • Let Us Break Their Bonds Asunder
  • He That Dwelleth In Heaven Shall Laugh Them To Scorn; Thou Shalt Break Them With A Rod Of Iron
  • Hallelujah
  • I Know That My Redeemer Liveth
  • Since By Man Came Death
  • Behold, I Tell You A Mystery; The Trumpet Shall Sound
  • Then Shall Be Brought To Pass The Saying That Is Written; O Death, Where Is Thy Sting?
  • But Thanks Be To God Who Giveth Us The Victory
  • If God Be For Us, Who Can Be Against Us?
  • Worthy Is The Lamb That Was Slain; Amen